The CFA Designation

The CFA designation is globally recognized and respected as the highest educational standard in the investment community. It is also recognized by some U.S. states and foreign countries as a proxy for certain licensing requirements.

The CFA Program has been benchmarked as comparable to a masters degree in finance by the United Kingdom Academic Recognition Information Centre. More than 125 distinguished colleges and universities around the world have incorporated a majority of the CFA program curriculum into their own courses, including the University of Oxford’s Said Business School, Peking University, and New York University.

The graduate-level program consists of three examinations that cover the following:

  • Ethical and Professional Standards
  • Equity Investment
  • Quantitative Methods
  • Fixed Income
  • Economics
  • Derivatives
  • Financial Reporting and Analysis
  • Alternative Investments
  • Corporate Finance
  • Portfolio Management and Wealth Planning

In addition to the examinations, there are work experience requirements (4 years in the investment industry) and ongoing professional / ethical conduct requirements.

For more information on the CFA® Program, please read Why Choose a Charterholder?